Mahada: What is economic empowerment??

Yesterday…

FATIMA: Good afternoon ma, I came to look for Godiya so we can do our homework together.

MAMAN GODIYA: Oh, you will have to come to the house later in the evening because I have sent Godiya to sell kunu. Education is good, but we also need our daughters to be engaged in things that will bring money for the present needs.

HANNE: You have a point, but I hope you are not pushing Godiya too much…

MAMAN GODIYA: Pushing what! I have not even started. I can’t afford to be slack, you know it’s only me and Godiya. I will train her to be hardworking and responsible whether she likes it or not!

Today…

MAMAN GODIYA: Have you seen Godiya, she didn’t go to school today. Please if you see her let me know o (going off) Chai Godiya… Godiya is all I have, I don’t pray for anything to happen to her

MAMA KOSAI: That is what you will say, the other day you made a bike hit her

After she is found…

GODIYA: (weak voice) … Mummy I’m not lazy, you know this my hand that got wounded in the accident is still paining me.

MAMAN GODIYA:(angry) Keep that your mouth shut, so you went to hide. Godiya I’ll not allow the wicked words of my enemies to come to pass, you must be hardworking and successful in life. I’ll punish you because I don’t want you to become a useless person in life!

GODIYA: Mummy, I’ll be successful when I finish my education, but this one you are punishing me by not allowing me to go to school today…

MAMAN GODIYA: (emotional) This girl you’re not thinking of my effort at all, all this one I’m doing, is it not to make sure we have enough money to eat and for your education? See, come and carry this kunu now to go and sell.

GODIYA: (sobs) Mummy, I don’t like to hawk o. I want to go to school  

Later in the evening…

PASTOR: (alarmed) What are you doing here by this time of the day!?

ADO: She is scared of going home because she has not finished selling her kunu.

PASTOR: Godiya! Don’t worry I will follow you home to see your mother.

MAMAN GODIYA: What are you doing here Godiya when you didn’t finish selling the kunu?? Kai, I’ll beat you… I’m just tired of this Godiya’s laziness and she knows how I’m struggling just for her to become someone great in life. I’m only trying to teach her to be hardworking that why I sent her to sell the kunu.

PASTOR: See Maman Godiya there is sometimes a very thin line between training your child and child abuse.

MAMAN GODIYA: Child abuse? I will never do anything that will harm my only daughter! I just want her to be empowered to take care of herself in future. What have I done wrong?

PASTOR: Sending your daughter to hawk is not exactly empowering her!! Do you know the kind of dangers a young girl of Godiya’s age is exposed to while hawking on the streets? Warning her to be careful will still not save her from all the dangers; all these bad boys that are around looking to take advantage of young girls, they can easily get hold of her. And more so, this hawking is standing in the way of Godiya’s education,she told me on the way here how you stopped her from going to school today as a form of punishment. If Godiya does not go to school regularly how will she get all the benefits from school?

This happened just before pastor found Godiya…

MEMORY CARD: No problem… I will buy all the kunu left, but you will have to follow me where I can drink it comfortably (stroking her lightly on the back)

GODIYA: (happily) Thank you Memory Card. Let us go…

MAMAN GODIYA: God forbid! Ah! I did not think of it that way. So, I wanted to use my own hand to do myself!!! But I was only trying to raise some money from this kunu I sent her to sell. This my tailor business has season and for now things are not easy for me.

PASTOR: Let her learn a skill she will hold onto for life, going to school and learning a skill can go hand in hand, one doesn’t have to stop the other.

MAMAN GODIYA: That’s true o!!! I really appreciate this your good advice. I never thought about it this way.

What is your own advise on economic empowerment for the girl child???

Leave a comment