MAHADA: Marriage and Religion

MAMA KOSAI: I came to get information about the Garba family, how good are they, especially if a woman wants to marry their son, Bala?

PASTOR: Ah, I can vouch for that family! They have a very good reputation and that their son, Bala is a well behaved and responsible young man.

Few minutes later…

MAMA KOSAI: Maman Godiya, see I have found a very good family for Godiya to marry into.

MAMAN GODIYA: (fiercely) Godiya is not getting married now. Haba! Allow her to grow first, she is only 14-years old!

MAMA KOSAI: So what!! So, 14 years is too small to marry? By that age my mother already gave birth to your husband, my brother of blessed memory! I just want Godiya to marry on time and be happy, it’s best for girls to marry early so they don’t end up single in their old age and more importantly they don’t get pregnant outside wedlock and bring shame on the family.

MAMAN GODIYA: That was then, I won’t allow same to happen to my daughter and I’m training Godiya the right way so she will not bring me shame.

In the end…

MAIGARI: But mama a girl needs to be ready for marriage mentally, biologically and physically. In Islam, forced marriage is not acceptable.

PASTOR: Not only in Islam, even in Christianity, it is not right for a girl to be forced into marriage.

One of our callers agrees with mama Kosai, he had this to say: If you say no to early marriage, how are you going to prevent early pregnancy?

Which of the characters do you agree with, what is your opinion???

Leave a comment